šŸŽ“ļø Rhett & Link Launch A Scholarship

OG YouTubers Rhett & Link announce a new scholarship program at North Carolina State University.

Creatooooooooors!

Sup peeps, how are all of my favorite people feeling as we fall into spring?!

The trees are starting to sprout and flowers are starting to bloom, and I know Iā€™m getting old because this spring Iā€™m literally starting to look forward to yard work??? I gotta clean up that rose bush and aerate the backyard, and no thatā€™s not a euphemism, you sicko!

Jokes and aging aside, the spring always feels like a reset for me. Lots of introspection, reflection, and future planning happen at this time of year, and I get the chance to look forward to new beginnings and evolutions in my life both in, and outside of work and content creation.

From the puppy coming in two weeks (no, I will not shut up), to CreatorPad evolutions, leaps taken in my creative career, and beyond, this spring points toward exciting new chapters to be explored.

But enough of my sappy diary session, letā€™s get into the meat of why youā€™re all here. The latest scoops on the stories Commanding, Shifting, and Creating this incredible creator space!

A Mythical Scholarship by Rhett and Link šŸŽ“ļøĀ 

Ok itā€™s not called the Mythical Scholarship, but that would be kinda sweet.

OG YouTubers, Rhett and Link, who both received engineering degrees from North Carolina State University, have launched a scholarship for third and fourth-year engineering students at the school. This scholarship, supported by their company Mythical, will be giving out a full-ride, two-year scholarship to eligible students. Letā€™s check out the details below:

  • Whoā€™s Up for the Ride: To be eligible for this scholarship, students must ā€œshow a commitment to innovation and creativity in engineering, sciences, arts, or entertainment.ā€

    • I love how fitting this is. Being that Rhett & Link are both creatives at their core as well as classically trained in engineering, it seems that theyā€™re looking to support the students who are currently following in their footsteps. While the duo knows, like most creatives, that getting a degree is a solid fallback plan; creativity is not something that can shy away easily, if at all. Rhett and Link looking to support those creatives who are being pushed toward higher education seem to be exactly what they may have needed during their time at university. What a beautiful cycle of creators supporting creators! šŸ„¹Ā 

  • Who Gets It: As of now, only one student will be chosen to receive the scholarship for their junior and senior year, but something tells me that number will grow after they take learnings from their first student who finishes the program.

    • While thereā€™s only one spot for this scholarship, Rhett & Link being the engineers and creatives that they are means that theyā€™ll likely take the first run as a learning experience before rolling this out to even more students. With MrBeast teaching a class at Harvard, Mark Rober giving a commencement speech at MIT, and beyond, itā€™s incredible to see these massively successful creators turn to those in university to instill the fact that itā€™s ok to explore your creative side.

  • Ok, but Why?: Rhett and Link are looking to start this scholarship in the hopes of supporting students who embody "mythicalityā€, which is a self-described desire to learn, appreciate originality, and not take themselves too seriously.

    • Again, being that Rhett & Link are engineers with degrees, but had a creative itch that wouldnā€™t subside; the duo searching for a student who shares the same mentality gets me excited for whatā€™s to come from this opportunity.

While only one student will be eligible for this scholarship as of right now, seeing Rhett & Link continue command the space and pave the way for a new generation of creatives gets me fired up. What do you think the outcome of this scholarship will look like?

The Return of Roy Purdy šŸ•ŗĀ 

Even if you donā€™t remember or recognize the name, youā€™ll recognize his iconic videos that are peak 2010ā€™s. I get nostalgic just looking at these dudesā€™ moves.

But Purdy isnā€™t coming back on the scene with bright clothes or music, heā€™s back with the same content he started his channel with over a decade ago. Skate edits.

I wanted to cover Purdyā€™s recent return because of the shift that heā€™s taking in his creative career by getting back to his roots after being in the viral spotlight for the last ten years.

While Purdy took a turn for music and dance moves accented by his iconic neon outfits, skateboarding was always a constant throughout his uploads.

Garnering tens of millions of views across all of his content consisting of music videos and dance moves accented by his iconic neon outfits, Purdy would constantly lace in skating to his repertoire as well. While his most recent video is his first upload in three years, itā€™s clear to see that Purdy is taking a bit of a different approach with his content by going back to his roots.

Although the future direction of the channel is unclear, watching a multi-talented creator get back to the content that they truly enjoy gets me fired up to create the content that I love too.

I think thereā€™s something important for creators to take away from Purdyā€™s experience. While you can adhere to the algo and make content that breaks through the noise, you can also bring your own passions and ideas with you through the algo-pleasing content.

With skating being Purdyā€™s passion that stands out in his filmography (YouTubeography?), Iā€™m curious to find if any of you readers lace your passions into your content. Let me know how you do this so I can share your tactics with the rest of our community!

The Turning of YouTube Tides feat. DemkošŸ’€

Everyone meet Demko!

I had the pleasure of chatting with Demko after finding his video, Everyone is quittingā€¦ So let me introduce myself.

Outside of a killer title, Demkoā€™s edits, storytelling, and energy show that heā€™s planning to take the platform by storm. In this video, Demko transparently shares that this entire process of becoming a YouTuber is going to be a learning experience for him.

From video essays to gaming, vlogging, streaming and beyond, Demko has some big goals that Iā€™m sure heā€™ll continue to achieve. With over 5k subs at 17 and the attitude of a go-getter and learner, Iā€™m sure Demko will continue to hit his strides.

With Demkoā€™s awesome energy, I took the opportunity to interview him on everything from his current content, his mindset on the creator space, his Discord community, his goals, and beyond. Letā€™s dive into the interview!

Q: Demko! Letā€™s start with the basics, tell us a bit about yourself, where are you from, how old are you, how did you get into creating on YouTube?

ā€œOf course! My name is Demko, as you already know. I am from Canada, QuĆ©bec and I'm 17 years old. I started YouTube at a very young age. I was really fascinated by content creators because of their abilities to write and film entertaining videos that thousands and thousands of individuals were watching every day.

Although my content was very bad, as you would imagine from a 12-year-old, I still had a passion that was undefeatable. And 5 years later, while I was tired of not doing anything and continuing to hide what I truly loved to do, I dove back into content creation, but this time with a goal, and a thirst for knowledge.ā€

- Demko

Watching all of the greats, itā€™s clear to see the effect that it had on young Demko. With the goal of entertaining thousands of audience members like those who came before him, Demko focusing on a particular goal while also having insight from his favorite creators is perfect fuel for the creator fire.

Q: You recently made a video about iconic YouTubers quitting, tell us why you think this is a good thing for other creators?

ā€œI don't think it's certainly a good thing for creators, because those larger creators inspired many by uploading, but it certainly did have an impact.

Those viewers who had comfort/favorite creators are left with old videos that they can only rewatch so many times. Of course, it's unfortunate those big creators are leaving, but it forces their audience to find new creators, and if you mix this with the new algorithm, you have a recipe for emerging successful creators.

Maybe it's just an optimistic way to see it, but realistically, seeing big creators like Matpat leaving is pretty sad, I just hope that whatever they are doing now makes them happy.ā€

- Demko

This attitude is exactly why I think Demko and his content have the legs to keep running on the platform. As I constantly cover creator news and sentiments from the space, this is the first time that Iā€™ve heard about these OGs leaving being a good thing. But with Demkoā€™s point of view and sentiment, I get excited for the content that is to come from creators like him. Just because people are ending their careers doesnā€™t mean yours is over too, it just means that a spot has opened up for you.

Q: Tell us a bit about your video Why YouTube is Finally Healing. Why is it healing? What is it healing from? Are you doing anything to add to the healing of the platform?

I made that video for two main reasons, the first one was I saw an opportunity for a trending video, other creators began talking about the many changes YouTube were working on and, combined with big creators like MrBeast saying the "meta" was changing, I felt like I had to give my opinion.

The said ā€œhealingā€ was how the algorithm was slowly changing to favor smaller creators and the personalization of content. For the past decade, there was a huge appearance of what I like to call ā€œArtificial Retention.ā€ A lot of creators were screaming, using flashy text and motion graphics, over-editing their videos and so much more.

Videos felt like they HAD to have edits every 2 seconds, or they would fail. I don't necessarily think I am helping with the healing part, but rather I am calling it out. Although there's nothing seemingly wrong with it, I don't enjoy this type of content for the reason that it fries attention span.

- Demko

By paying close attention to trends and learnings from his content journey, Demko is setting himself up for continued success in the YouTube ecosystem. And why keep all of that insight to yourself? Well, Demko would never, and you can join his community to gain creator insights of your own!

Q: You have a pretty great community on Discord, why did you start that up and why is community important to you?

I started The Cemetery as a way for me and my fellow creators to discuss our love for content creation and also to build a community of passionate individuals.

I have this belief that there's no such thing as winning by yourself. Of course you can take the path to success alone, but no one will look at how you did it. Most of the time only the end result matters, which is why I want to surround myself with people that are passionate about what they do, not only content creation, but anything and everything.

This community is really important to me because I want everyone I know to succeed, and if everyone can share different pieces of their knowledge, we can help each other out and learn in various aspects, and we will eventually all reach the top one by one.

- Demko

Amen to that sentiment, Demko! Rising tides raise all ships, so letā€™s bring each other up, together!

Q: What are your goals in 2024 for content creation?

My goal for this year is to gain five thousand more subscribers and continue growing my community.

If I don't reach those goals, I just hope at the very least my content inspired someone to begin something big, or genuinely impact their life in a good way.

Numbers aren't everything, after all. I'd rather much more if I just made an impact, no matter the size.

- Demko

From Demkoā€™s content to his demeanor and willingness to help other creators and beyond, itā€™s not secret that he will continue to see success. Creators like Demko are always so exciting to discover, not only because of their awesome energy but also because the sentiment towards the space and those in it is so pure.

Definitely go check out Demkoā€™s content and give him a sub and some love in the comments! Thank you again to Demko for the awesome interview! šŸ˜„Ā 

šŸ—žļø In Other News

  • MoistCr1TiKaL, aka Charlie, aka Penguinz0 popped up on my recommended in the strangest way. Not blasting a video game or giving us some news scoops, but instead, in a bbno$ music video? What am I gonna say, people? COLLABS WORK! I would love to hear how this one came about, but with just under 2M views in less than 24 hours (at the time of writing), itā€™s safe to say this collab is a success.

  • Creator Rewards program is back on TikTok, and honestly this feels like a ditch effort to get more creators on their side before the ban hammer comes a knockinā€™. What do you readers think?

  • YouTube is pumping the breaks on the AI-sphere by launching new tools to help creators call out their ā€œsyntheticā€ content. WOW, I love that YouTube is leading the pack with new terminology for AI content. Synthetic is a killer adjective, shoutout to their press writers hahaha.

šŸ¤” What Are Your Thoughts?

Are we enjoying the longer-form interviews in the Create section?! This issue is my second deep dive interview with a creator on Cmd+Shift+Create, and Iā€™ve personally been really enjoying getting back into the journalist/interviewer seat, but what do you readers think? Let me know by replying to this email with your thoughts! šŸ˜ŽĀ 

šŸš€ Up Your Career as a Creator

If youā€™d like to keep learning about topics like the ones above, follow me on LinkedIn! Iā€™m always excited to connect with new creators!

If youā€™re looking to collaborate and cross-promote with like-minded creators from around the world, check out my startup, CreatorPad!

Hope you enjoyed this weekā€™s post. See you next week āœŒļø

Ā 

Subscribe to keep reading

This content is free, but you must be subscribed to Cmd+Shift+Create to continue reading.

Already a subscriber?Sign In.Not now