• Cmd+Shift+Create
  • Posts
  • šŸ‘Øā€šŸ’» Hacking YouTube, Creator for Congress, African TikTok Bans, and More

šŸ‘Øā€šŸ’» Hacking YouTube, Creator for Congress, African TikTok Bans, and More

A creator figures out how to growth hack YouTube, a creator runs for congress, Arica begins banning TikTok, and more. This week in creator economy news.

Goooooooood morning creators!!

If youā€™re reading this as it came out, Iā€™m currently somewhere in Paris, hopefully eating a croissant.

No other big updates from me today, except that I just got YouTube Premium and oh my god why didnā€™t anyone tell me to do this sooner? I didnā€™t realize you could efficiently watch YouTube videos, but here we are.

PS - Shout out to one of my readers, Sav!! She shared some kind words with me about the newsletter, specifically about my ramblings in this section, so I just wanted to say thank you properly, Sav. Youā€™re the best and comments like this are what make me want to keep creating this newsletter every week!! šŸ˜ŽĀ šŸ’ŖĀ 

Now, onto the news!

Creator Economy News šŸšØ

This week in the creator world, how to growth hack YouTube, a creator running for congress, Sidemen raise millions, Ninja launches a podcast, Khaby Lame gets a video game feature, and more. This week in creator economy news!

You should see these šŸ‘€

Creator Spotlight šŸ”¦

Image: PaulieB (YouTube)

PaulieB is an NYC-based photographer and videographer whose channel popped up on my feed from my recent film photography content deep dive (that was a mouthful, even in my head).

PaulieB is not only an incredible photographer, mainly focusing on street photography and capturing the eclectic and hectic life of NYC. As a New York native, watching Paulieā€™s videos brings me right back to walking around the city, taking in all of the insanity, intrigue, and emotion that comes with the millions of faces and lives in NYC.

My first introduction to Paulieā€™s content was a video series called Walkie Talkie, where Paulie follows different photographers and lightly interviews them on their processes, techniques, inspiration, and beyond. When I watched Paulieā€™s video on street photographer, Trevor Wisecup (another insanely incredible creative), I was immediately hooked on his content and editing styles.

As an interviewer, Paulie doesnā€™t interject himself into the conversation, he really just lets his subject speak, teasing out more details by asking very simple questions. Paulie has the chops of a seasoned journalist and really allows the subject to speak their mind.

Another standout from these videos is the way that Paulie strings the interviews together with imagery shot during the conversation. Not only are the shots intriguing and beautiful, but they allow you as a viewer to understand the intricacies (and beauty) of shooting in this style.

If youā€™re looking for some artistic inspiration, definitely be sure to go check out Paulieā€™s content, and if youā€™re not sure where to start, most definitely check out this video. It made me shove a few extra rolls of film in my travel bag for my upcoming trip!

Keep shooting, interviewing, and making scroll stopping content, Paulie!

Want to go even further? šŸš€

If youā€™d like to keep learning about topics like the ones shared above, stick around! But more importantly, check out the links below to further your development as a creator. šŸ˜Ž