• Cmd+Shift+Create
  • Posts
  • 🍽 FDA Hates Prime, YouTube Luck Vs Skill, Mic Giveaway & More

🍽 FDA Hates Prime, YouTube Luck Vs Skill, Mic Giveaway & More

The FDA takes aim at Prime energy for caffeine levels, is YouTube success based off of skill or luck, an opportunity to win a free mic, and more! This week in creator economy news:

Happy happy Wednesday peeps!

We have some super exciting CreatorPad developments happening on the backend and I am so insanely excited to fill you guys in on the fun in the coming weeks!

But in the meantime, let’s jump into some creator news. 👇

The FDA Hates Prime ⚡️

Image: Chris Unger//Getty Images

Has the day of reckoning come for KSI & Logan Paul?

Well the hate doesn’t come from the FDA, but a senate member has asked the FDA to launch an investigation on Prime and the drink’s effect on young consumers.

Honestly, as I come from the age of Four Loko (how did this even exist), having someone be on top of caffeine exposure from popular drinks is super important (wow… I think I just realized that I’m old 😂).

Sitting at 200mg of caffeine per can, Prime is definitely up there. For reference, Monster Energy has 86mg per can and an average cup of coffee has 95mg. As someone who tutors young kids, I can assure you that the last thing we need is 11-year-olds off of two cups of coffee doing TikTok challenges. No wait… I take it back… that could be some great content.

All jokes aside, this amount of caffeine could definitely mess with a developing brain. From headaches to increased anxiety & heart rate, restlessness, or even insomnia, limiting the caffeine that a young person takes in is absolutely something that should be accounted for.

While the caffeine levels are of concern to these senate members, they’re also concerned that the brand takes aim directly at young consumers in their ad campaigns.

While Prime states on its website that it is not recommended for people under 18 to consume the product, the marketing is interacting with kids under 18, specifically.

The investigation is yet to be underway as far as I’ve read, but it seems inevitable at this point as Prime continues to grow into one of the largest sport & energy drink brands in the game.

What do you think? Should we let ‘em run free range, or should we have some restrictions on these products?

Mic Giveaway 2: Electric Boogaloo 🎙

You read that right, it’s mic giveaway round two time. 😎

Creator news was a bit slow so far this week, so instead of a deep dive, I’m going to plug myself hahaha

Last week I hit my humble goal of reaching 1,000 LinkedIn followers, so to celebrate, I want to give away another Audio Techina mic! Check out the entry details below 👇

As I reached this goal, I want to start working on another goal of mine, which is building out my email newsletter subscribers (if you’re reading this through your email inbox right now, I love you)! ✉️

I love and appreciate my LinkedIn readers, but it's so hard to figure out the analytics on LI newsletters. And with no analytics, I can't make better content for you!

So, to enter the running for this mic, I'm asking that you:

1.) Subscribe to the email version of my newsletter (if you’re here already, hop to step two)

2.) Give this LI post a repost to give the free mic opportunity to some friends

3.) Drop a comment on the LinkedIn post after you do the above!

So sorry to say but this time is US/EU shipping only, I'm going to try my best for EU, but I may need to send you some $$$ instead 👀

Thank you so much to all of my followers, readers, and supporters. You guys are the reason I try to write content every single day and I appreciate you all so much. You know who you are ❤️

Best of luck to everyone who enters, I'm excited for the next 1k followers and beyond!

Creator Economy News 🚨

This week in the creator world, Americans believe TikTok is a national security threat, Threads is to be news-free, two creators hit a number 1 ranked movie this year, MrBeast drives clicks, luck vs skill on YouTube, and more.

You should see these 👀

Creator Spotlight 🔦

Meet Bricks and Disorder! 🛠

Meeting in University over the love of Mario Kart (like any good relationship), Cully and Samson, aka Bricks and Disorder, are a creator duo who are shaking up the DIY space in a big way.

I stumbled on Bricks and Disorder when they released their recent (and channel-first) full-length video. While the duo has been popping off on shorts, this first full-length video from the channel blew me out of the water, and with over 500k views in 5 days, it seemed to do the same for others, too (they’ve racked up over 15k subs in 24 hours 🤯).

This first video explores the build of a designer couch for a fraction of the price and showed the amazing storytelling, editing abilities, and fantastic synergy that Cullen & Samson have. I became a fast fan after watching this one and immediately dove in for more, only to be surprised that this was their first full-length!

I believe that this pair will continue to shake up the DIY space and slowly become a force in the creator world. They’re sharp, witty, insanely talented craftsmen, and even more impressive creators.

Keep building, Cullen & Samson! 💪

Want to go even further? 🚀

If you’d like to keep learning about topics like the ones shared above, stick around! But more importantly, check out the links below to further your development as a creator. 😎